Chair and Secretary: Sue Cross Email Address
Treasurer and Membership Secretary: Trevor Boyd

Music Librarian: Hilary Worsfold

Committee and Adviser: Jim Grant

New Committee Member Cheryl Hale


Meetings are 2nd Saturday of the month except for August when  there is no meeting. Important notice: June and September meetings have had to be changed to the first Saturday – June 1st and September 21st as Park Hall have just changed the bookings.

 Meeting times: Doors open just after 2pm. Ready to start playing at 2:30pm ending at 5pm with a short break for a drink and a biscuit

Full membership £50 of which £25 goes to the SRP

Associate membership, where a player already belongs to the SRP through membership of another branch, £25

Members and associate members pay no money when they attend an ordinary meeting. Visitors pay £6 each visit.

New members joining the SRP for the first time after 1st January 2024 receive a 50% discount until 31st August 2024

Membership application forms may be obtained from me via the email address above.

If you  book a place with me for an ordinary meeting, we know how many parts we need and which different instruments will be available, how many chairs and how many to cater for in the break. However if you decide to come at the last minute then please just turn up but not if it is a Playing Day.


September 9th Edith Holmes will conduct:

Gabrieli  Sonata Pian e Forte 2 choirs SST/AATB

Philip  Every Teddy Bears’ Picnic Sop SATB

Alison Lewin  A Girl in Every Port SATTB

Paul Richards Joshua SATBB/Contra

October 14th This week only a later start 2:45 until 5:15pm

AGM 2:45 probably for 5minutes 

Gloria Pevy will conduct us for the first time.  Gloria studied recorder with Philip Thorby at Trinity College of Music. Since graduating in the mid 1980s, she has worked as a performer, adjudicator and teacher having decided at the age of nine that she wanted to pursue a career in music!

Dowland : Mr George Whitehead, his Almand . This is 5 parts with parts 2 & 3 being flexible with the size of instrument.
Lewin : The Nutting Girl SATBGb
Tuxedo Junction arr. Paul McHugh SATBGb
Clark Irish Suite SATTB

November 11th Anthea Spensley and Hilary Worsfold

Steve Marshall        Bagatelle for Clarinet and Recorder Sextet Anthea on the clarinet Hilary conducting SAATTB

Four Irish Melodies, Turlough O’Carolan, arranged  Sheila Richards SAATB

(JS Bach Fare Thee Well AATB if time)

Singing Wind  Rosin Sylvia Corrind SSAATBGBCB(bass and treble clef) Triangle

Septet for Recorders by Stephen Watkins SAATTBB (GB and CB optional)

(If time Raymond Harvey SATTB)

December 9th Gloria Pevy  All ready to play at 2:30pm

In Dulce Jubilo/ O Magnum Mysterium arr Lewin SSATTB
In Dulce Jubilo Pearsal SSAATTBB
Praetorius Puer Nobis SATB 
Praetorius Vom Himmel Hoch SSAT;AATB
Hieronymus Praetorius Joseph, lieber Joseph mein 2 choirs of SATB
Bruce Pennick A Carol Suite SopSSAATTBB
Santa Claus Blues SATBGbCb

January 13th Enid Holmes and Hilary Worsfold

Ready to play at 2:30pm

Hilary will conduct:
Bertali Sonatella SSATB
Lance Eccles Sephardic Songs No 4 ATTB
Bruckner Locus Iste  SATB
Bach  Fare Thee Well  AATB
Enid will conduct:
Blow the Winds Southerly SAATB
Joplin Magnetic Rag SAATB

January 27th All day Level 2 Conducting Workshop with Moira Usher Flamstead Methodist Church

February 10th Gloria Pevy  – ready to play at 2:30pm

John Adson No. 9 from Courtly Masquing Ayres   SSAA/TTB

Battishill O Lord, look down from heaven SSAATTBB

Anne Martin Fantasia Surrey Leaves Sop SSAATTBBGB & optional CB.
Paul Mc Hugh  Sounds Latin SATB (One movement has 2 tenor parts.

March 9th Nick Epton,  Hilary Worsfold and Anthea Spensley

Nick Epton
Peter André: “Adagio Cantabile” (SATB)
 Trad. arr. Pieter Campo: “The Foggy Dew” (SATB)(GB and CB optional)
Hilary Worsfold
Steve Marshall Chaconne  SATTBB,
Michael East Do What You Can. (scored for TTB but top line could be S and 2nd line could be A) (if time) 
Anthea Spensley

Septet for Recorders by Stephen Watkins SAATTBB (GB and CB optional)


April 13th Gloria Pevy

William Brade Paduana & Gagliarda
SSATB (alto reading up an octave)
 Rodgers arr. Bloodworth    It might as well be Spring (SAATTBB)
Steve Marshall  The Charlbury Reel
Then finishing off from the March session:
Sounds Latin by Paul McHugh SSATB

May 11th Playing Day with Steve and Ann Marshall 10am for coffee, play 10:30am until 4:30pm

with breaks for tea and coffee, lunch and afternoon tea. £15 but £5 for students.

E-mail:  . Telephone: 01763 23 18 05

June 1st Gloria Pevy NB not the usual 2nd Saturday

Viadana  Sinfonia ‘La Bolognaise’ a 8     SATB x 2 choirs

Marg Hall       Take 8                SAATTBGbCb

Holzmann arr. Handscombe      Blaze Away!    SopSATBGbCb                        

McHugh arr. Barlow           On the Sunny Side of the Street     SSATB
July 13th 

Mandy Phillips&Cheryl Hale 

August – no meeting

September 21st NB not the usual 2nd Saturday

Last updated 17 May 2024