The Society of Recorder Players/Moeck Solo Recorder Competition is a biennial competition organised by the Society of Recorder Players with Moeck and the London International Festival of Early Music.

The aim is to encourage young players of talent, and to help them in their professional aspirations. Competitors must show that they are able to sustain a full recital programme at a professional level.

The first prize consists of a recital at LIFEM in the year following the competition, together with cash prizes, donated by Moeck, the Society of Recorder Players and the Philip Cole Bursary.

International entries are welcome from recorder players of a suitable standard who are under thirty years of age on 1st November in the year of the competition. Previous winners are not eligible to enter.


We are delighted to announce that the fantastic Anna Stegmann will be chairing the judging panel for the 2021 competition. 

Anna Stegmann Photo: Marco Borggreve

Anna Stegmann is a passionate performer and teacher of early and contemporary recorder music. She has toured throughout Europe, North America, Asia, and Australia and recorded several CDs on the labels Pan Classics, Glossa, GWK Records, and Lindoro with her own chamber music groups, Ensemble Odyssee and The Royal Wind Music, and as a guest soloist with La Risonanza (Fabio Bonizzoni) and The New Dutch Academy (Simon Murphy) amongst others.

Anna is regularly heard in notable venues and festivals such as the Melbourne Recital Centre, Thüringer Bachwochen, Musikfestspiele Potsdam, and the Festival Oude Muziek in Utrecht. In the past she has appeared at the Sydney Festival, Forum Cultural Guanajuato Mexico, Concertgebouw Amsterdam, Boston Early Music Festival, Dallas Video Festival, Konzerthaus Berlin, Muziekgebouw aan ‘t Ij Amsterdam, Holland Festival, Semana de Musica Religiosa de Cuenca, to name a few.

As recorder professor at the Royal Academy of Music in London she teaches an enthusiastic select group of next generation recorder-professionals. From 2020 she is also a regular guest-teacher at the Junior Department at the Royal Northern College of Music in Manchester.

Since 2013 she has co-organised the Open Recorder Days Amsterdam; a biennale festival which has quickly grown into one of the biggest recorder events worldwide and brings together recorder amateurs and professionals alike from all across the globe.

Born in Münster (Germany), she lives in Amsterdam (The Netherlands) where she graduated in 2011 with distinction in the class of Paul Leenhouts at the Conservatorium van Amsterdam, after finishing her studies with Winfried Michel at the Musikhochschule Münster and the Musikakademie Kassel (Germany).

Details for entry to the competition will be released shortly, please sign up to our mailing list above to receive information as soon as it is published. 

Huge congratulations to Tabea Debus who won first prize at the 2019 competition. Tabea’s recital will be broadcast from the LIFEM website on Friday 6th November 2020 at 7pm (GMT). 

All four of our finalists gave fantastic performances and it was a very difficult decision for our adjudicators. Many thanks to all of the performers for their wonderful playing.  Read more about our finalists here.


1st Tabea Debus 

2nd Hojin Kwon 

3rd Martin Bernstein

4th Paula Pinn

This year’s finalists were Guillaume Beaulieu, Silvia Berchtold and Mirjam-Luise Münzel. You can read all about the performers here.

After three fantastic performances from our finalists, the results were as follows:

1st prize – Silvia Berchtold; 2nd prize Guillaume Beaulieu and 3rd prize – Mirjam-Luise Münzel. 

A review of the competition, written by Miriam Nerval, was published in the Recorder Magazine and the Early Music Shop Spring Newsletter in 2018.

Silvia returned to Blackheath to perform her winner’s recital on Friday 9th November, 5pm at All Saints’ Church with Gerhard Abe-Graf on harpsichord. Her programme included music by Ucellini, Ravi Shankar, Arañés and improvisations after Hildegard von Bingen.

Silvia writes, ‘I have always struggled between a need to express something which was already within me, and the inescapable fact that a composition already has its own content for which, in order to get to know it better, you have to follow certain rules of style to learn and the “vocabulary” of its language. Sometimes these two components in my playing went into such different directions that one could easily consider the actual output as “unmusical”.

I am still struggling to find the middle way, between playing “correctly” (whatever that means) yet not devoid of any creativity and personality. Being awarded first prize in the competition was a meaningful confirmation to me to continue this way – even though judging always is a subjective decision and it could have been totally different under different circumstances.’

The final of the 2015 competition took place at 1pm on Friday 13th November in the Peacock Room, Royal Naval College as part of the 2015 Greenwich International Festival and Exhibition. The final results, decided by adjudicators Bart Spanhove, Maria Martinez Ayerza and Steven Devine, were as follows: 1st prize – Laura Schmid; 2nd prize – Lea Sobbe; 3rd prize – Sophia Schambeck; 4th prize – Silvia Berchtold.

Group photo

The finals took place on Friday 8th November at the Old Royal Naval College, Royal Greenwich as part of the 2013 Royal Greenwich International Early Music Festival and Exhibition. The winner was Anne-Suse Enβle from Germany, second was Laura Schmid and third was Claudius Kamp This photo shows the finalists with their certificates, the adjudicators – David Bellugi (2nd from right), Rachel Brown (3rd  from left) and Charles Matthews (at left) – and representatives of Moeck and the SRP.

Finalists, adjudicators and sponsors

The 2011 Society of Recorder Players/Moeck Solo Recorder Competition Finals were held on Sunday 13th November 2011 at 1.30 pm in the Peacock Room, Royal Naval College, Greenwich. The finalists were Eva Fegers, Kerstin Farh and Yi-Chang Liang. The adjudicators were Matthias Maute, Emma Murphy and Ibi Aziz.

First Place – Eva Gegers               Second Place – Yi-Chang Liang               Third Place – Kerstin Fahr

Last updated 8 November 2020

4 Responses

  • […] Info: Dick Pyper, Competition Administrator 35, Meads Road, Guildford, Surrey GU1 2NA United Kingdom Tel.: +44 (0) 1483 505104 E-mail: compatsrpdotorgdotuk webpage: […]

  • […] Surrey GU1 2NA United Kingdom Tel.: +44 (0) 1483 505104 E-mail: compatsrpdotorgdotuk webpage: Share this:TwitterFacebookLinkedInEmailStampaGoogle +1PinterestLike this:Mi piaceBe the first to […]

  • […] Surrey GU1 2NA United Kingdom Tel.: +44 (0) 1483 505104 E-mail: compatsrpdotorgdotuk Pagina web: Share this:TwitterFacebookLinkedInEmailStampaGoogle +1PinterestLike this:Mi piaceBe the first to […]

  • […] Moeck/SRP Competition | Society of Recorder Players1st Eva Fegers 2nd Yi-Chang Liang 3rd Kerstin Fahr. Eva will be returning in November 2012 to perform her Winner’s Recital at the Early Music Exhibition. … […]

Comments are closed.